Personal Preaching Practice

This morning, I preached the Gospel to myself.

Not because I needed to get saved again, but because it’s a powerful practice to remind myself where I was headed and what I deserved, then flash forward to where I am headed now and what I get that I don’t deserve!

I’m a sinner saved by grace just like everyone else and it’s important for me to remember that. Not that we need to dwell on the past (Philippians 3:13 – …one thing I do, ​​forgetting those things which are behind and ​reaching forward to those things which are ahead…”), but it’s pretty mind-blowing and humbling to think of where we came from and, through faith in the finished work of Jesus Christ, where we’re headed now!

Every once in a while, people ask the question, “Where do you think you’ll be in 10 years?” When I was 15, I certainly wouldn’t have said “I’ll probably live in Clarksville, TN with my wife and 2 kids, where we’ll be starting a church.” There’s no way I could have ever come close. But here I am, faults and all, and God is still using me to do new things here in Clarksville. As I heard Chris Tomlin sing this morning, “Greater things are yet to come and greater things are still to be done in this city!” I’m excited to see what those “greater things” are!

Leave a Reply

