1-800-CALLGOD

I recently had to call Dish Network because a debt collector said I owed them a $55 installation fee from 1997. What was I doing in 1997 installing Dish Network, you ask? Good question. I was 14 and in 8th grade then. I’m pretty sure I wasn’t installing Dish. I’m pretty sure it would’ve taken me about a month of saving my allowance to pay for the install fee.

So, I called Dish and I got the automated, pretend-to-be-a-human-but-do-a-terrible-job-of-it computer voice. She assured me she could understand complete sentences, so she said I should just tell her what I needed. So I said, “Debt Collection.” She replied, “Your TV screen is black, blue, or snowy. Is this correct?”

Apparently, in addition to being able to understand full sentences, she’s also been programmed to lie.

Anyway, after a confusing and frustrating time trying to weave my way through that audio maze, I finally connected with a real human being to get the situation resolved.

That whole scenario gave me an even bigger appreciation for prayer. Prayer is our direct 1-800 number for God. It rings right to His throne.

No angels. No robotic voices. No saints. No Mary.

Just God Himself – you know, the Creator and Sustainer of everything we have including the air we breathe – yeah, Him! He has created a way for us to talk directly to Him, and yet, prayer is so easily overlooked.

As individuals, what should we do about that problem? The best thing I can come up with is:

PRAY MORE!

Hebrews 4:16 – Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

Every day throughout the day we have limitless chances to tap into God’s resources through prayer. He’s listening and He’s never too busy. He doesn’t “answer calls in the order they were received” – He listens to them all at the same time whenever we call!

Not only should we pray more as individuals, but also corporately as a church. I’m excited to implement this opportunity beginning tonight (Sat, March 6) and each Saturday from then on. It’s very simple. Nothing extravagant. No candles or incense or ambiance, just a kids classroom and 30 minutes before service to focus on asking God to move. You should join us. Every Saturday from 5:45-6:15pm, meet one of us pastors back in the back classroom as we lay our hearts before God. Let’s ask Him to move in our city, in our church, and in our individual lives.

God is listening and ready to answer.

Leave a Reply

