Theology Lessons Learned From Fatherhood

Over the last week, with Father’s Day approaching, I’ve been thinking about how grateful I am for my 2 girls. Although they cost a lot, cause me to lose sleep, and have both puked and peed on me, I still love them with a love that I can’t describe. I’ve also thought about the many things I’ve learned about my Heavenly Father through being an earthly father to Emery (3 years) and Adalyn (8 months). Here are a few theology lessons they’ve unknowingly taught me…

1) God loves when we talk to Him.

Some of the times I cherish the most with Emery is when she just sits with me. Sometimes it’s something simple like watching a movie together, or just reading a book together, but I love it. Adalyn is learning to form sounds and words now and has just recently gotten good at saying “Da-da.” I LOVE to hear her say my name!

As our Heavenly Father, I believe God cherishes those times too. He loves when it’s not just out of obligation, but when we sincerely sit down and just talk with Him, read with Him, have a cup of coffee with Him. And He LOVES to hear us say His name.

Psalm 46:10 says to “Be still and know that I am God…” Being still is challenging, but we need it and God loves it!

He loves just hearing your voice!

2) We don’t have to be scared to try big things since God is there.

Emery is getting brave, but there are still some things (thankfully) that she’s not willing to try – it’s too high or too intimidating. All of that changes when daddy is around! She jumps down flights of stairs into my arms, crosses streets as she holds my hand, and swings really high on the swing set as I push her.

If I didn’t know that God would follow through on His promises, I’d never do anything challenging. Why risk my family’s well-being to plant a church if God might not come through for us? But because He’s always faithful, I’m willing to do scary things when He’s around.

Although, as a dad, there will be times where I let my girls down, my Father never will! “When we are faithless, He remains faithful. He cannot deny Himself.” – 2 Timothy 3:12

3) God knows everything and can defeat anyone.

Emery thinks I’m the strongest man alive and I hope to keep it that way. She tells me I’m cool and handsome and awesome. In her mind, I’m a superhero. I know, I know, that will all change in just a few years, and in about 10, it may be the exact opposite, so I’ll enjoy it while it lasts.

Although Emery thinks I can do anything, we all know the truth. God, on the other hand, is unbeatable, unstoppable, and unchangeable. No one stands a chance against Him. No obstacle is too big for Him. No circumstance can catch Him off guard! “If God is for us, who can be against us?” – Romans 8:31

4) God has our best in mind – even through discipline.

Sometimes I have to spank Emery. I hate doing it, but I know it’s the best thing for her. Sometimes she doesn’t want to eat the food that’s on the table or go take a nap or wear those shoes, but there’s always a reason behind what we tell her to do: we have her best in mind.

God is the same. Unfortunately, He gets the reputation of being a cosmic kill-joy that sets up rules because He’s God and He can. Wrong. He has our best in mind…even when it comes to discipline. “For whom the Lord loves He chastens, and scourges every son whom He receives.” – Hebrews 12:6

He does it because He loves us and knows what’s best for us. He knows the consequences of decisions we haven’t even made yet, and so the best thing we can do is just trust that.

5) God has it all under control – there’s no need to worry.

Sometimes I just have to laugh at Adalyn when I’m holding her and she’s whining or seems so worried about something. I laugh to myself because of the fact that she seems so worried, and yet, there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING she needs to worry about. We take care of every detail of her life down to diapers, baths, food, and even the temperature of her room. Not one day has passed when we forgot to feed her or clothe her. We transport her, protect her, and provide for her on every level, and yet, those tears still flow.

We’re the same way with God. He holds us in His arms and we whine and cry and worry about small things that God doesn’t even have to think about to accomplish. He’s keeping us breathing and providing food and clothing. He protects us, provides for us, and loves us in ways we’ll never know. Yet there we are wondering how we’re going to pay the bills this month – as if God can’t figure that out either!

I love how the New Living Translation puts it so clearly…

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 4:6-7

If you’re a dad, Happy Father’s Day to you. Make sure to take some time to learn some theology from your kids…and enjoy hanging out with them!

For everyone including dads, remember your Heavenly Father today – the perfect Father who will never leave you, always provide for you, and always be right by your side!

Leave a Reply

