Just What I Needed

Dr. Pepper used to advertise that their drink is just what the doctor ordered. I have yet to go to a doctor that orders me to drink Dr. Pepper. Could someone please tell me where his office is?

The idea behind the advertising was that Dr. Pepper was just what you needed right when you needed it. I must agree – sometimes there is something so refreshing about drinking your favorite frosty beverage. But as timely as Dr. Pepper claims to be, it’s nowhere near as timely and accurate as God’s Word.

One thing I love about systematically teaching or reading through the Bible is how God uses it to speak to me with precision and clarity. Somehow He times my reading and my life’s circumstances to line up exactly where they need to be so that when I sit down to read my Bible, it comes to life. It’s as if each passage that I read is custom-tailored for that specific day. I wish I could say it’s always this way. Sometimes I get distracted, or I’m a bit tired, or I oversleep, but today was one of those perfectly aligned days.

Here’s the verse that stood out to me as I finished reading 1 Chronicles today…

David also said to Solomon his son, “Be strong and courageous, and do the work. Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the Lord God, my God, is with you. He will not fail you or forsake you until all the work for the service of the temple of the Lord is finished. – 1 Chronicles 28:20

That verse was just what I needed to hear. These last two weeks have been a bit overwhelming as I try to oversee the renovation of our Riverside building, study to teach, go between different church locations, spend thousands of dollars replacing destroyed church stuff, see my good buddy Denver off as he moves away, and rearrange schedules after multiple construction delays – all in preparation for the kick-off of our Sunday service this weekend. Needless to say, it’s been a high-stress couple of weeks (and months).

If I’m not careful, I can forget that it’s God doing the work, not me. Sure, I need to do the best that I can, but ultimately, He’s putting everything together. For some reason, though, I get this idea that the Creator of the Universe may need a little help.

Then I read verses like 1 Chronicles 28:20.

It was one of those verses that I just had to stop and thank God for including in the Bible. You know those verses?

What a great reminder from a father (David) to a son (Solomon) that he should work hard, but that God would put all the pieces into place. I needed that reminder.

My dad is visiting this week and I’m so glad he’s here. He’s a huge help with doing a lot of the hands-on stuff that I’m not good at. But as much help as my dad is, my Heavenly Dad is still the One putting everything together.

It’s exciting to see it all come together and I can’t wait to kick off our Sunday service this weekend. I’m about to start studying for my message in a new 10-week series that also starts this Sunday called “The Forgotten: Unforgettable Stories of Forgotten Lives.” Can’t wait to see what God does as we re-open our Riverside building this Sunday at 10am!

Leave a Reply

