Podcasting – God’s Word on the go

Since we moved to Clarksville, there have obviously been some major changes…

We had a baby.

I drove a school bus for a while.

It rained a lot.

Another change that I hadn’t really thought through was the transition from being taught to doing all the teaching. In Albuquerque, when I was on staff at Calvary, I taught a lot: Wednesday night, Saturday night, and twice on Sunday mornings. However, since we didn’t have a service for middle schoolers at 8am, I was able to sit in on the service each Sunday morning. Skip Heitzig was (and still is) my pastor, and he’s a fantastic Bible teacher (there’s a link below to prove it). That 8am service was so refreshing to me because I didn’t have to do anything besides listen. I wasn’t worried about the transition between worship and teaching, or thinking through what I was about to teach – I was able to just focus on taking it in.

When we left Albuquerque, that all changed. We visited a few churches here in Clarksville to assess the spiritual climate of the city, but we of course never got involved in one, since we had come to start our own. My first job in Clarksville was working the graveyard shift as a janitor. By far the best part was being able to listen to my iPhone for 6-8 hours straight. I would listen to hours and hours of Bible teachings every night!

In Albuquerque, podcasting wasn’t a big priority to me. I had some great Bible teaching all around me and was able to soak it in quite often. That was not the case when we moved to Clarksville. Now, I’m the teacher. I’m not complaining. I live for this. It’s also taught me an important lesson about ensuring that I receive the spiritual food I need to keep going.

I go through a few podcasts every week now, just listening to them in my truck on my way to and from work each day. It’s vital for me to be taking it in so that I can continue to give it out.

But I’m not regurgitating sermons I’ve heard – my one-on-one time with the Lord is even more important. That’s when God and I hang out. That’s the “meat” of my spiritual feast.

I love technology for a lot of reasons, but a main one is the many ways it can be used to glorify God and make Him known. I thought I’d use this time as a chance to pass along some of my favorite podcasts and Bible teachers, and ask you to do the same.

Below are some of my favorites. Leave a comment with your favorite (and maybe even a link to their podcast)!

Skip Heitzig, Calvary Albuquerque

Alistair Begg, Truth For Life

James MacDonald, Walk in the Word

Levi Lusko, Fresh Life Church

Greg Laurie, Harvest Christians Fellowship

Pedro Garcia, Calvary Chapel Kendall

Louie Giglio, Passion City Church

 

 

Leave a Reply

