When you don’t know God’s plans

A couple years ago, when I was praying about planting Awaken Church, my main concern was who would go with me. I knew I couldn’t do it on my own, and a couple close friends who had said they were coming decided not to. I was worried and I began to doubt. It always helps me, however, to know that great men of faith, whose names made it into Scripture, struggled with some of the same issues I do. I read the passage below as I struggled with these thoughts, and today, in my journey through the Bible in 90 days, I re-read it, and was re-refreshed by it. Here’s the dialog…

Moses said to God, “Look, you tell me, ‘Lead this people,’ but you don’t let me know whom you’re going to send with me. You tell me, ‘I know you well and you are special to me.’ If I am so special to you, let me in on your plans. That way, I will continue being special to you. Don’t forget, this is your people, your responsibility.” – Exodus 33:12-13 [MSG]

I love how frank Moses is with God. I also love how he reminds God of His own words (as thought they may have slipped His mind at the moment).

I recently found myself struggling with the Lord on some issues in prayer, and I ended up saying some of the very same things Moses said. I said something like, “God, I know You’re God, and I know You know what You’re doing…but I DON’T know what You’re doing! And it’s driving me crazy!”

Have you ever been there? Moses was there. God had plans, but as close as Moses was to God, he still felt a bit out of the loop.

So, what was God’s response? He spelled out, in detail, the rest of Moses’ life and ministry…right? Not at all…

God said, “My presence will go with you. I’ll see the journey to the end.” – Exodus 33:14 [MSG]

I love it. Without divulging any details whatsoever, God simply reminds Moses to stop worrying and keep going. Regardless of human presence, he would be joined by God’s presence – and that’s all that matters. It’s as simple as that.

So there, Moses. Stop worrying!

I hate to break it to you, but your plans may not be God’s plans…and if that’s the case, it’s a very good thing because His plans are ALWAYS better. His timing is better, His resources are better, His motives are better. It’s always better with Him.

So if you find yourself in a place where you don’t know God’s plans, take heart. Moses was there too. Just like Moses, be honest with God, keep asking, and be stoked that as long as you follow His lead, His presence will be with you – He’ll see the journey to the end!

2 thoughts on “When you don’t know God’s plans

  1. one of my favorite quotes is from John Lennon “Life is what happens to you when your to busy making other plans” plus the bible verse that you quoted wednesday matt 6:34 “….dont worry about tomorrow, it has enought worry of it’s own”. Ever since I became a parent and over the years it seems my anxiety grew and i would worry more and more. I want them to know Christ as their Savior as I do. thats when I got a big smack of a reminder ( i get those daily) 🙂 that God does have his plan for their lives. i have to trust and keep my faith. then not to mention i would pray what’s my plan God…..? what am i suppose to be doing? i dont have a calling to anything or a talent that could be used. but truth of it all, i am doing what i am suppose to for my kids. i still have this “want” in my heart that i do have a calling or “something” to be doing.

    if i can give you some hope of encouragement, God has used u, Jenn, Jenn W., and Awaken in my family’s lives more ways than 1. God is always teaching me something through your messages, that gives me a hope, peace, and the much needed spiritaul smack on the back of my head. hearing my children sing the worship songs from church makes me over filled with excitement. look out brother, your crown in heaven is gonna have some heavy jewls in it.

Leave a Reply

