JESUS IS ALIVE!

This morning, I read the end of Matthew 27 during my time with the Lord. I’ve read it many times before, but for some reason today, the last verse jumped out at me…

So they went and made the tomb secure, sealing the stone and setting the guard. – Matthew 27:66

Maybe it’s because I already knew the end – I knew what was coming.

I knew that stone and those guards wouldn’t be there for long.

I knew that when the women came to anoint Jesus’ dead, stiffening body, that they wouldn’t find it.

I knew that Matthew 27:66 wasn’t the end.

I knew the Great Commission from the risen Christ was just a page away.

Whatever the reason was, I just had to sit back and soak that verse in for a moment. The reality is that if death couldn’t hold Jesus, a rock and some soldiers stood no chance! In fact, if death couldn’t hold Him, the Earth itself and the entire Roman army stood no chance!

Because of Matthew 28:6, there’s hope…

He is not here; for He is risen, as He said. Come, see the place where the Lord lay. – Matthew 28:6

This weekend, we’ll be announcing our plans for Good Friday and Easter 2011. I’m pretty excited about some unique things we’ll be doing to promote the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. We’re praying for God to do unbelievable things as we seek to make Him famous! It’s the biggest weekend on the Christian calendar – I’m praying it’s an unforgettable day at Awaken and around the world as the Good News of God conquering death is proclaimed!

Leave a Reply

