Faithful or Famous?

God did some amazing things this weekend in Albuquerque. It was such a blast being back with students and leaders that were a part of our lives for so many years.

The theme of the teachings this weekend was living to be faithful, not famous. We learned from people throughout Scripture who lived with that purpose in mind.

I had all of my messages mostly done by the time we arrived in Albuquerque on Wednesday, but there were pieces that still needed to be put into place. The main one that I felt was lacking something was today’s message from Hebrews 11. For some reason, for the last month or so, I’ve felt like that message was missing a major piece, but I couldn’t figure it out. This weekend, God put the last piece into place…

As I blogged about earlier this week, I met a girl named Natalie (she and her son, Spencer, are pictured to the left) at the college ministry I taught at on Thursday whose life was changed 4 1/2 years ago through a message I taught. She had scheduled an abortion, but upon giving her life to Christ that night (4 years ago), decided to keep the baby. She was the perfect illustration of living to be faithful, not famous. After all, life is a series of decisions, made in the  moment, that change who we will be and which route we will take. Thank God, Natalie made the right decision!

I got to meet 3-year old Spencer for the very first time this morning about 10 minutes before I taught the last session. At the very end, I brought her up and shared her story with all the students.

You can watch the video below. Be prepared…there was barely a dry eye in the place…

One thought on “Faithful or Famous?

Leave a Reply

