Something has to give

For almost 2 years now, I’ve been working 1, 2, or 3 jobs on top of planting and pastoring Awaken Church, as well as being a husband and dad. It’s been quite a challenge.

When I began my own graphic design business from my home, KevMill Designs, I didn’t expect it to go anywhere or really last any lengthy period of time (hence, the wildly creative name, KevMill Designs). It started because a friend from New Mexico wanted to use my skills for a business card for his company. Word spread quickly, and to my surprise, things really took off. So much so that I soon was able to quit 1 of my jobs and eventually scaled back at my second job so that I could devote more time to graphic design. Since then, I’ve also done graphics at Lasaters Coffee here in Clarksville and I am still the Art Director for Inpop Records in Nashville…oh, and also a pastor, husband, and dad (not in that order, of course).

Although it’s been great, and I’m thankful for the year and a half that I’ve had to use my art skills to bring in a little extra money, the time has come for me to step away from KevMill Designs. It’s not because of a pay raise somewhere else, but it’s because of a need to prioritize. I feel that I am doing many things about 75% because I never have time to do anything 100%. Something has to give. And if something has to give, I will not allow it to be my marriage, family, or church that does. So, although the financial side of things doesn’t exactly measure up, in the best interest of my marriage, family, church, and personal well-being, I’m taking a step of faith, trusting in God’s promise to provide, and taking the axe to KevMill Designs.

It’s a bittersweet decision – the last year and a half has been amazing. I’ve designed blog headers, billboards, banners, bulletins, slides, window clings, menus, t-shirts, posters, business cards, and almost anything else you can think of with graphics. I’ve worked with people from many different states and even a few in different countries. I’ve been able to do it all from my home, which has been a huge blessing. However, although my office is right upstairs, and I often wear slippers to work, I rarely get to hang out with my family…and that’s not ok.

If you are a client of mine or you’re looking for graphic design or something similar, I have good news for you – I have a few names to pass on to you…

GRAPHIC DESIGN

Chris Varble (Clarksville, TN)

– chris@chrisvarble.com

Jesse Lusko (Albuquerque, NM)Clean Sweep Creative

– cleansweepcreative@gmail.com

– Behance portfolio

VIDEO/ANIMATION (editing, After Effects, Motion, etc.):

Isaac Del Toro (Clarksville, TN)

– historian136@gmail.com

– vimeo portfolio

PHOTOGRAPHY:

Hector Cruz (soon to be Clarksville, TN)

– hector@mooreandcruz.com

– mooreandcruz.com

– flickr portfolio

I have a few jobs in the works right now, and should be finishing them up this week or next. Once that’s done, so is KevMill Designs. From this point on, I will not be accepting any new jobs.

Please pray for my family and I in this time of transition. We expect great things from the Lord. He’s always provided and we know He always will.

4 thoughts on “Something has to give

  1. Takes a great deal of faith to say “no” sometimes. It is encouraging to watch you and Jenn walk through this pioneering journey together.

Leave a Reply

