My Dad

That’s us in all of our glory. And no, that’s not my little brother sitting in my lap – that’s my little sister, Kara. I’m sure she loves this picture.

In honor of Father’s Day, I wanted to post a quick blog dedicated to my dad…

SOME THINGS MY DAD TAUGHT ME…

My dad always taught me to do the right thing, no matter the cost.

My dad taught me to be a man and own up to my mistakes.

My dad taught me to be a hard worker.

My dad taught me the importance of being involved in church.

My dad taught me the importance of being there to talk – I always knew he’d hear me out.

My dad taught me plenty of corny jokes. If you ever mention something about ears, hearing, or listening, expect him to reply with “Huh?” as if he can’t hear you. Also, since his name is Dennis Miller, when he meets someone new, he often points out that, unlike the other Dennis Miller, he’s never had a show canceled.

My dad taught me the importance of sacrifice by paying for years of Christian schooling for my sister and I.

My dad taught me about generosity. To this day, I know that if I need anything, my dad will drop any amount of cash, any task that he’s working on, and give of himself to help any way he can. He’s just that kind of guy. When I talk with him, our conversation normally ends with, “Do you guys need anything? Is there anything I can do?”

My dad was always my #1 fan. He was also my baseball coach, basketball coach, pitching coach, batting coach, computer repairman, rocket launcher, and camping buddy.

When we went camping, he got my reel all hooked up, line baited, and then handed it to me to do the easy work.

And although neither one of us is perfect, my dad embodied Proverbs 22:6 – “Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it.”

The last decade of our lives has looked a lot different than the first 17 years. Personal decisions, plans, and a calling from the Lord has led us each down different roads and to different states. We now live over 2,000 miles apart, but God still has a plan for each of us and I’m thankful for the foundation my dad set years ago.

Dad, I love you!

Happy Father’s Day!

(Let’s hang out soon.)

2 thoughts on “My Dad

Leave a Reply

