AWAKENED: Joe & Haley Morrone

As we geared up for our  2-year birthday, one thing we really wanted to highlight were some of the many ways God has changed lives at Awaken Church. For the last couple months, people have submitted their stories, and we were able to get together with a few of them to film.

One thing I love about Joe & Haley is their appetite for serving and learning. They’re constantly looking for more ways to be hand-on with ministry at Awaken. To me, they also stand as a great reminder of some of the people God has enabled us to reach out to. In fact, I invited a guy at Guitar Center to church the other day. He had long, black rocker hair, a bullring in his nose, tattoos, and other piercings. He was surprised to get an invite to the church because he said most Christians look down on him for the way he looks. I apologized to him on the behalf of Christianity, and I told him that not only does that not represent the way Jesus thinks of him, but he also won’t get treated like that at Awaken. Using Haley as my example, I even told him that if he came to the church, the person who greets him at the door and hands him a bulletin may have a bullring and tattoos as well!

I love that about my church!

Watch below to see how God has impacted Joe & Haley’s lives…

2 thoughts on “AWAKENED: Joe & Haley Morrone

  1. You guys are on the right path here. I wonder if you accept all people…straight, gay, old, young, just the gamut of all people who have found rejection in many places of worship. Do you see “sinners” and try to change them or do you accept them as theyare and provide a comforting, accepting safe place for them to grow in Christ?

    Joey, Haley and their kids are so important to me and i love them with all my heart. I am so happy for them that they found Christ, and an accepting church to love Him and grow in the Lord. i love you guys so much…keep up the good work. Your video moved me to tears, and I am also so happy for the atmosphere of belief and love that their children will be raised in. I thank Awaken church for changing their lives.!
    aunt jackie

  2. p.s. I put “SINNERS” in quotes because I don’t believe some things are sins, but are treated as such. The worst sin is not to live a Godly life, to go against the commandments, to bully, to not love each other, to hurt another without regret, to harm any of Gods creations without reason (i.e. Michael Vick), so many sins I can list but be aware none of the sins I can list single groups of people out just because they live a different lifestyle than you.(i,e. tatoos and piercings) Some people of Gods creation are just different, not sinful…thus the quotes. Everybody who reads this, just touch the life of another with the love of Jesus today!

Leave a Reply

