Same message, different chapter

Have you ever had a friend that seemed stuck on the same topic whenever you got together? Somehow, he was able to steer almost every conversation back to that one topic. For some, it’s a skill, for others, it’s a rut. For me, I like to call it focus.

Every Sunday, I have one goal: to preach Christ and Him crucified. Those are the words of the Apostle Paul to the church in Corinth:

“For I determined not to know anything among you except Jesus Christ and Him crucified.” – 1 Corinthians 2:2

His idea was simple. He didn’t want to show up and try to argue people into heaven. After all, if I can argue someone in, someone else much more eloquent than I can argue them out! He didn’t want people’s faith to rest on the wisdom of men, but on the power of God. So, although he addressed many different topics – some encouraging and some very confrontational – he always took it back to the cross.

At Awaken, I mainly teach expositionally – verse by verse through a book of the Bible.  But God’s Word has a way of constantly realigning itself with the cross. That would make sense since the cross of Jesus Christ is the central need of all mankind!

I’m not just preaching to non-believers when I preach about the cross, though. The cross is a vital message for me to hear daily too. I can never get enough of the fact that Jesus took my place and paid the price for my sin! Amazing!

Many people at Awaken take risks each week to invite friends to join them for church. I want Awaken to know that their risk is worth it. I can’t promise how people will respond to the Gospel – that’s not my job. However, I can promise that they’ll hear the Gospel. What they decide to do with it is between them and the Lord!

One thought on “Same message, different chapter

Leave a Reply

