Go to a different church.

On Sunday at our Year 3 Party at Awaken, I did something that I had never done before. Not because I didn’t want to, but because I’d never had the opportunity till Sunday.

On Sunday, right as I was getting ready to start teaching, I decided to call up a friend of mine that’s starting a church in Clarksville. His name is Grayson, and his church plant is called Fire By Night Church.

Grayson and his wife, Amy, visited Awaken for their very first time a little over 3 years ago, when Awaken still met in a living room! At that time, Amy was a barista at Starbucks, and they came to a few weeks of our Bible study before they moved to Georgia. They eventually felt led back to Clarksville to plant a church, and moved back in January of this year. Grayson recently got in touch with me, and we grabbed coffee and talked church planting for about 2 1/2 hours – it was awesome.

This Sunday was their first time at Awaken since the living room 3 years ago, and to say that things have changed is a bit of an understatement!

I didn’t warn Grayson, but I decided to call him up, tell Awaken about his church plant, then pray for him – all to remind Grayson and Awaken of an important point. I tell me church over and over that we are not focused on a denomination, a church title or brand, or a specific pastor; we’re about one name: JESUS. A new church plant that will be preaching God’s Word is NOT competition – we’re on the same team!

A big burden that God has given me, in addition to seeing the lost saved, is seeing God’s people united.

I’m not telling the people at Awaken to go to a different church, but I’m open to it if that’s where God leads. I’m not crazy enough to think that everyone in Clarksville is going to come to Awaken. The main point is that we get as many people as possible to connect with and commit to Bible-teaching churches across the city.

If you want more info about Fire By Night Church, check them out on Facebook.

One thought on “Go to a different church.

Leave a Reply

