Remember (a guest post by my wife)

During my wife’s time with the Lord yesterday, she read through Psalm 77 and had an urge to blog about it. So I told her I’d like to post it as a guest blog here. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it as I did…

I was on my way to meet a friend at one of my favorite restaurants one day. I already knew exactly what I was going to order. I could taste the amazing Chicken Salad on a freshly baked croissant and the piping hot homemade Tomato Basil Soup. This lunch was going to be absolutely fabulous because I hadn’t been to this place in over a year. As I pulled into the parking lot, something didn’t look right. Normally, there were cars flooding this place, but that day, there were very few cars and they were not parked in front of the restaurant. I went ahead and parked and made my way up to the front doors where I was greeted with a not so nice sign: “Closed for Business”. WHAT?? Of course, I was totally bummed. No chicken salad. No croissant. No tomato basil soup.

Have you ever been in a season where you feel like God has “gone out of business”? It feels as if He’s locked His doors and there’s no more mercy, or grace, or forgiveness for you. He’s no longer listening or responding. Life often leads us through various trials or circumstances where we can feel alone. You may find that you are crying out to the Lord, but you feel as if He doesn’t hear you. Eventually anger and frustration make their way into your heart. Guess what? God sees and knows all of that and still loves you and is listening to you. Take a look at Psalm 77. The Psalmist is going through a tough season and begins to wonder things like “Will the Lord cast me off forever? Will He be favorable no more? Has God forgotten to be gracious? Has He in anger shut up His tender mercies?” Right after he asks these questions, the tone of the Psalm completely changes. Verse 10 of Psalm 77 says, “And I said, ‘This is my anguish; but I will remember the years of the right hand of the Most High. I will remember the works of the Lord. Surely I will remember Your wonders of old.’” In his anguish, he chooses to REMEMBER.

Remember that God is all powerful.

Remember all the amazing works of the Lord.

Remember what God had done in the past.

He chose to remember. Verse 12 says, “I will meditate on all Your work, and talk of Your deeds.” His remembering led to meditating on the Lord and eventually led to action. He spoke of the Lord and all that He has done.

So, if you are feeling like God has closed you out, choose now to remember all that He has done for you. Meditate on His promises and on His power. And then tell someone about it.

4 thoughts on “Remember (a guest post by my wife)

  1. Amen! C’mon now…. Remaining ever mindful of the day Christ rescued me from certain death keeps my heart grateful! I will never forget, lest I become who I once was.

Leave a Reply

