Go Hard.

Some people seem to mistakenly think that life is about comfort and ease. Allow me to burst that bubble.

The Bible compares our lives to a dying blade of grass, a passing shadow, a vapor, some smoke, and it reminds us that God holds our breath in His hand. In other words, our time is limited. Time, like finances and spiritual gifts, is a precious commodity that God has entrusted to us to manage and invest wisely.

At the end of Paul’s life, he said “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race” (2 Timothy 4:7) because during the middle of his life, he said, “I will very gladly spend and be spent for souls” (2 Corinthians 12:15).

Paul got it. He knew that life wasn’t about his own comfort or his own pleasure. There’s nothing innately wrong with taking a breather or enjoying a vacation – we all need some time off here and there. But remember: if you know Jesus, you’ll have eternity to take a breather!

I recently attended the funeral of a pastor from Nashville. He was my pastor when I was real young. He was only 60 years old, and died of a heart attack. He had spent the weekend preaching revival services at a church, then died on Tuesday morning. The funeral closed with a clip of him teaching:

“I want to spend my life well. When my life comes to an end, I want it to be like sliding into home plate. I’ll tell God, ‘Wow God! What a wild ride that was!'” – J.R. Gould

By God’s grace, I’ll spend every last breath I have making the name of Jesus famous. If I have to drag myself over the finish line at the end of my life, that’s what I’ll do. I have eternity to rest and celebrate…but my time here is short.

Leave a Reply

