A Monumental Weekend

God did some incredible things among us this weekend at The Uprising and at Awaken. It was a monumental weekend as we got to be a part of God moving in such a huge way.

Including our 4 services at Awaken this weekend + The Uprising, we saw 19 decisions for Christ, and we got to baptize 28 people! 5 of the people we baptized today made decisions for Christ at The Uprising on Friday night! That was a huge encouragement to me because I always love it when people come to Christ, then stick around and get involved. I love knowing that it was more than just an emotional response, but a life-changing move of God. That’s what we’re out to create: not just converts, but disciples!

Corey (who you’ll see pictured below) was one of those stories for me. He came to the very first Uprising almost 2 years ago, but just came for the music and immediately left. He heard about it again this time while he was on campus at APSU, and decided to show up for a free concert. God had a different reason for bringing him that night, and he was the first one out of his chair to commit his life to Christ! I was so encouraged by his tears and visual repentance, and prayed over the next few days that I’d get to connect with him. I even prayed on Sunday morning that God would bring him to get baptized. To my amazement, he strolled through the doors right in time for the noon service, I told him about the baptism, and he said, “I didn’t come ready to get wet, but let’s do it!” It’s moments like those that make the exhaustion, the thousands of dollars, the hours of graphic design, planning, meetings, and preparation all completely worth it!

I want to also give a special thanks to everyone who gave financially toward The Uprising and those who served on a team. You got to partner with God in changing lives. Those 19 people are fruit to your account!

Here are a couple pics to help you visualize some of the amazing things that happened this weekend…

The Uprising at APSU's Music/Mass Communications Building
The Uprising at APSU’s Music/Mass Communications Building
10229038763_6a92541c65_b
15 decisions for Christ!
10228876534_5fc3ba013a_b
the merch team hard at work
10228845524_f6053dfcb2_b
My wife, worship leader extraordinaire. I’m honored to do life AND ministry with her!
10228818104_d2c11c0b8b_b
House of Heroes lit the night up with some amazing music!
10219597833_1772288c67_b
House of Heroes
10219579136_ed1aa3dfbe_b
We collected a lot of food and hygiene products that will be donated to Manna Cafe to reach the underprivileged across Clarksville!
10219546675_123e1560dc_b
My good friend, Steve Jeter, from Static Radio, joined us to emcee the event – he’s a genius.
10219482815_920d66289b_b
House of Heroes
10219410724_0269104694_b
This is Zella (6 – on the left), and her mom, Trish. Zella gave her life to Jesus at The Uprising and her mom was there with her!
April was 1 of 28 people that we got to baptize this weekend. About 2 months ago, she told me she was an atheist. Not anymore!
April was 1 of 28 people that we got to baptize this weekend. About 2 months ago, she told me she was an atheist. Not anymore!
10256600045_6ea61261c3_o
Corey came forward at The Uprising after he showed up for what he though would be a great free concert. He was right, but it also changed his life! He was another of our 28 baptisms that weekend!
I met Chris a few months ago at a dentist appointment. I invited him to church, and now his whole family comes. It was a big moment for me, as I got to baptize him!
I met Chris a few months ago at a dentist appointment. I invited him to church, and now his whole family comes. It was a big moment for me, as I got to baptize him!

 

 

Leave a Reply

