I Will Because He Will

iwill

I can’t tell you much about your future. I have no idea how long your hairstyle will last. I don’t even know how long the pair of shoes I’m wearing will last. There aren’t many guarantees in life, but one thing is guaranteed: trouble. Jesus Himself said, “In this world you will have tribulation.” It’s a guaranteed part of the human existence.

In the closing verses of Habakkuk, the prophet envisions Judah’s hillside stripped of all luxuries and necessities: figs, grapes, olives, grain, sheep, and cattle – GONE!

Although we don’t like the idea, we can imagine going for a while without luxuries, but what about our necessities? If we had to, we could live without our greeds, but what about our needs? How will we respond in the moments where we find ourselves at the end, at rock bottom, or feeling all alone?

As Habakkuk proved, when we fear God, we have nothing else to fear. A healthy fear of God helps us rise above our circumstances.

In the closing two verses of Habakkuk 3, there’s an important link between the prophet’s choice to rejoice and the source of his rejoicing.

I will rejoice in the Lord, I will joy in the God of my salvation…”

Why? He will make my feet like deer’s feet, and He will make me walk on my high hills.”

I will because He will.

Our choice to rejoice is founded on God’s faithfulness. If you base your joy on yourself, your possessions, or your circumstances, you’ll constantly be on a roller coaster. Don’t do it. Choose to rejoice through the pain (not necessarily for it, but through it). The Bible gives us many reasons to do so. Here are a few…

I will rejoice because He will never leave me. Hebrews 13:5

I will rejoice because He will always provide for me. Philippians 4:19

I will rejoice because He will give strength in my weakness. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

I will rejoice because He will guide my steps. Psalm 119:105

I will rejoice because He will lead me in triumph. 2 Corinthians 2:14

I will rejoice because He will work all things out for my good. Romans 8:28

I will rejoice because He will raise me up to be with Him. 1 Thessalonians 4:13-18

I will rejoice because He will walk with me through the Valley of the Shadow of Death. Psalm 23:4

I will rejoice because He will crush Satan under our feet shortly. Romans 16:20

I will rejoice because He will remain faithful even when I’m faithless. 2 Timothy 2:13

What would you add to your “I Will Because He Will” list? Leave a comment and let me know!

Click the link to watch or listen to the whole teaching on Habakkuk 3:16-19 called “Trembling, Yet Trusting.” You can also watch or listen to the whole Not By Sight series.

Leave a Reply

