The Flood: Update, Pics, & Ways to Help

6 years ago, on Monday, May 3, I waded through knee-deep muddy river water that had flooded our tiny church building. My family and I had uprooted and moved across the country to a city we’d never lived in, to do something we’d never done: plant a church. You would think that a 100-year flood would destroy an 8-month old church plant and send us packing. But God used this flood to build His Church in ways we couldn’t have imagined! Here’s a look back…
“The LORD rules over the floodwaters. The LORD reigns as king forever.”
‭‭Psalms‬ ‭29:10

Kevin Miller

By the time I finally got to work today at 4pm, I decided to turn on some music in the warehouse as I filled some orders. I put my iPhone on shuffle and the first song that came on was “Into the Sea” by As Cities Burn. Ironic to say the least.

The events started much earlier when I went down to Riverside Dr to help them salvage the computer and some electronics from the Lasaters store down there. I had driven by our church just about 14 hours before, and all the water was still in the river. No worries…or so I thought.

I helped clean up at Lasaters, then got in my truck, parked by the railroad tracks that go behind our church building, and walked toward the church. Here’s what I saw. I was in complete shock. There was our building in about 2 feet of water…

View original post 810 more words

One thought on “The Flood: Update, Pics, & Ways to Help

Leave a Reply

